samedi 21 mars 2009

mardi 22 juillet 2008

Bruce Joyner - Preludes and Nocturnes - 1993

Bruce Joyner is a rock'n'roll hero.

Rainy grey day
The Dragonfly
The Grind
The World needs a little more love (1994)
Twitch and Writhe
Night Surf .
Honey drenched kiss
Cat's meow
Time machine
They were expendable
The emotional side (I spy love)
Dreaming of Oz
pw: rollmops

lundi 21 juillet 2008

Ned's Atomic Dustbin - God Fodder - 1991

Kill your television!

1. Kill Your Television
2. Less Than Useful
3. Selfish
4. Grey Cell Green
5. Cut Up
6. Throwing Things
7. Capital Letters
8. Happy
9. Your Complex
10. Nothing Like
11. Until You Find Out
12. You
13. What Gives My Son?
pw: rollmops

mardi 8 juillet 2008

Dan Melchior's Broke Revue - Andover, Duluth, London - 2003

One from these NYC-based buzzsaw R&B spine-crackers is a collection of covers from three of their favorite locales-from Andover, Hampshire, England comes the Troggs' 'I Just Sing;' from Duluth, Minnesota, the band takes on Bob Dylan's 'From a Buick 6;' and from London, England, they slay the Subway Sect's 'Chain Smoking' and the Small Faces' 'Whatcha Gonna Do About It.' Four tracks in all, pressed in a limited edition of 1,000 copies.

01 Chain Smoking
02 From A Buick 6
03 I Just Sing
04 Whatcha Gonna Do About It
pw: rollmops

vendredi 16 mai 2008

Dominic Sonic - Cold Tears - 1989

A guitar + a drum machine + words = a rock'n'roll satellite of the 80s-90s.

1. When my tears run cold
2. Shadows in the fire
3. When I'm looking at them
4. La loi des pauvres gens
5. Praying to the Lord
6. What I'm waiting for
7. Cold turkey
8. A s'y méprendre
9. Call me mister
10. Acid tonic
11. I'll stay downtown
12. Cocksucker Blues
pw: rollmops

mercredi 7 mai 2008

Element Of Crime - Try To Be Mensch - 1987

Produced by John Cale. "There's no god anymore".

1. No God Anymore
2. She'll Never Die
3. You Shouldn't Be Lonely
4. As Long As I Love You
5. Don't You Smile
6. Something Was Wrong
7. Beware Of Strangers
8. He's Gone
9. The Last Dance
10. Nervous & Blue
pw: rollmops

mercredi 23 avril 2008

Dr Feelgood - Down At The BBC - In Concert 1977-1978

This latest release by Grand Records captures the legendary Dr Feelgood at the peak of their powers. These recordings were made by the BBC and originally broadcast on Radio One. Until now they've remained in the BBC archives. Both concert recordings featured on this album have been digitally re-mastered making this an essential purchase for Dr Feelgood fans as well as fans og guitar-driven rhythm 'n' blues.
Having survived the punk explosion and the acrimonious split with guitarist Wilko Johnson Dr Feelgood set about consolidating their position as the UK's most exciting live band. Wilko's replacement was the then unknown Gypie Mayo. He wasn't unknown for long. His impact on the band was enormous as the 22 tracks on this CD show. Gypie's arrival heralded the beginning of a new more commercial successful era for the band for the band as highlighted by the singles "Milk & Alcohol" and "Down at the Doctors" (live versions of both these Feelgood anthems are included on this CD).
Gypie's guitar heroics proved the perfect foil for the howling and growling of frontman Lee Brilleaux. Mix some blues standards and soul classics with band originals and you have a potion that only Dr Feelgood could come up with.

Looking Back / Stupidity / You'll Be Mine / You Upset Me Baby / Homework / Baby Jane / The Blues had a baby and they named it Rock & Roll / That's it I quit / Lucky seven / She's a Wind up / Lights Out / Looking Back / Sugar Shaker / I thought I had it made / Ninety Nine and a half / Milk & Alcohol / Night Time / Shotgun Blues / You upset me baby / Down at the Doctors / She's a Wind up / Lights out

Lee Brilleaux: Vocals, Harmonica - Johnny Guitar: Guitar
John B. 'Sparko' Sparks: Bass - John 'The Big Figure' Martin: Drums

pw: rollmops